Listen Live

facebook twitter rss

Get our App

App in Google Play

iPhone app

Rewards Club



This weekend is the beginning of tournament time in the college hockey world and there are plenty of Storm alumni represented.

Eleven former Tri-City Storm players will represent nine different schools in the NCAA Tournament which begins on Friday and Saturday at regional sites in Providence, R.I., Manchester, N.H., Toledo, Ohio, and Grand Rapids, Mich.
The group of Storm alumni is headlined by two goaltenders that have had outstanding seasons with their respective schools, Carsen Chubak with Niagara and Adam Wilcox with Minnesota.
One of the more surprising Storm alumni to enjoy success this year was Chubak. Currently in his junior season with the Purple Eagles, Chubak was recently named the Atlantic Hockey Player of the Year.
Chubak has also been included on the list of top ten Hobey Baker Finalists, which was announced Mar. 21. The Hobey Baker award is awarded annually to the best player in all of college hockey.
After not seeing much action early in his college career, Chubak burst on the scene this fall. The Prince Albert, Sask. native ranks in the top five nationally of every major goaltending category. He ranks first in shutouts (6), third in winning percentage (.750), fourth in save percentage (.938), and eighth in goals against average (1.91). The Purple Eagles will face North Dakota on Friday afternoon in Grand Rapids.
Wilcox, who has been the No. 1 goalie in between the pipes for Minnesota, is just one season removed from leading the Storm to the USHL playoffs. This weekend will mark his first games in the NCAAs, as he looks to continue his marvelous freshman campaign.
The South St. Paul, Minn. native racked up 25 victories and was fourth in the country with a winning percentage of .743. He was also seventh in goals against average, with a mark of 1.85 and collected three shutouts. His Golden Gophers team is the No. 2 overall seed in the tournament and will also play in Grand Rapids, opening up against Yale on Friday.
Other Storm alums who are on rosters of participating teams include Blake Coleman (Miami), Ryan Forgaard (Union), Soren Jonzzon (Quinnipiac), Chris Joyaux (Miami), Nick Maricic (Yale), Cody Murphy (Miami), Kevin Nugent (Notre Dame), Andrew Panzarella (North Dakota), and Eli Zuck (Minnesota State).