Listen Live

facebook twitter rss

Get our App

App in Google Play

iPhone app

Rewards Club


Hastings College Basketball Honors

Pairings have been announced for the 22nd annual NAIA Division II Men's College Basketball tournament and the 32-team field does not include Hastings College. The Broncos finished 20-11 this year, 11-9 in the Great Plains Athletic Conference, but dropped a 84-60 decision to Midland University in the first round of the conference tournament. Northwestern, Dordt and Midland will play in the single elimination tournament that gets underway next Wednesday in Point Lookout, Missouri. Midland will play 8th seeded Eastern Oregon on Wednesday at 10:15am, 4th seeded Northwestern will battle California Maritime at 7:30pm on Thursday and tenth seeded Dordt will battle Northwest Washington at 10:15am on Thursday.

The 32-team women's tournament will be held in Sioux City. Four teams from the GPAC will be participating. Morningside will play Webber International on Wednesday at 7:30pm, Northwestern will battle Mayville State of North dakota on Wednesday at 1:45pm, Briar Cliff will play Siena Heights of Michigan on Thursday at 5:15pm and Concordia will face Cardinal Stritch of Wisconsin on Thursday at 8:30am.

Brady Lollman of Hastings College has been named to the Great Plains Athletic All-Conference First Team. Lollman averaged 16.0 points and 3.2 rebounds per game for the Broncos this season. Dane Bacon and Dylan Flynn were named to the second team. Ben Miller of Northwestern was named the Player of the Year, Trent Miller of Morningside was named the Defensive Player of the Year, Connor Beranek of Doane was named the Freshman of the Year and Kris Korver of Northwestern was named the Coach of the Year.

On the women's side, Cami Bruckman of Hastings College was named to the All-GPAC Second team. She averaged 13.2 and 4.9 rebounds per game this year. Brittany Wong was honorable mention. Kendra DeJong of Northwestern was named the Player of the Year, Katie Rich of Concordia was named the Defensive Player of the Year, Jess Tietz of Morningside the Freshman of the Year and Jamie Sale of Morningside the Coach of the Year.